Skip to content

The Peat Dead

One of BooksFromScotland’s “dazzling dozen” Scottish crime novels to read this year!

Shortlisted for the McIlvanney Debut Prize!

Islay. Remote and peaceful. Until a spade finds a human hand, a pointer to a crime. And under the peat, five corpses.

The Peat Dead.  History doesn’t go away.

The Peat Dead is a gripping page-turner, but also a reflection on the nature of history and of the political order. It’s set in authentic locations on the island of Islay and in Glasgow.

It’s the first in a series featuring Detective Inspector Angus Blue. The Peat Dead is published  by ThunderPoint Publishing.

Comments by other authors:

“This atmospheric crime novel set on Islay gripped me from the start. Decades-old crimes cast long shadows.”   Sarah Ward

A mystery so redolent of its island setting that you practically smell the peat and whisky on the pages.    Douglas Skelton

More about the story.

Read the first few pages.

Want to read The Peat Dead in a book group? Some useful notes for discussion here.

See reviews from the Guardian Not the Booker Prize 2019 here